Audit and Risk Management Committee

1. What is the The Audit and Risk Management Committee

Audit and Risk Management Committee (the Committee) has been established under section 53 (1) of the Local Government Act 2020 (the Act) as an independent advisory Committee to Council.

The Committee provides Council with independent advice and guidance regarding the adequacy and effectiveness of management’s practices and potential improvements to those practices, with specific regards to:

  • compliance management
  • governance structure
  • risk management and fraud prevention
  • internal control framework
  • oversight of the internal audit activity, external auditors and other providers of assurance, and
  • financial statements, performance and public accountability reporting.

    The Committee comprises of five members as follows:
  • three Independent Members (one of which is the Committee Chair), and
  • two Councillor representatives.

Independent Committee Members receive remuneration for their role, which is set by resolution at a formal Council Meeting.  Set fees per meeting apply for each Independent Committee Member and the Chair, which are indexed in alignment with the rate cap % each 1 July.

Councillor Committee members are not remunerated for their role on the Committee.

2. Terms of Reference

The terms of reference for the Committee are outlined in the Audit and Risk Management Committee Charter(PDF, 429KB) which was approved by Council in August 2020.

3. Audit and Risk Management Committee Members

Mr Stephen Schinck – Independent Member and Chairperson

Appointed as an independent member in May 2016.

A consultant with Landell Consulting specialising in procurement and governance and holds a business degree with majors in accounting and economics. 

A senior director with the Department of Treasury and Finance for over 16 years, his experience includes financial management, policy reform, corporate planning and governance, human resource strategy, risk management and internal audit.  Has held Director and Chair roles in the not for profit sector and is an independent member on a range of Audit and Risk Committees.

Mr David Ashmore, FCA, GAICD, F.Fin – Independent Member

Appointed as an independent member in June 2024.

David Ashmore brings over four decades of experience as a Chartered Accountant to the Yarra Ranges Audit and Risk Management Committee. His career includes key positions at Ernst & Young and Grant Thornton, where he specialised in Audit and Assurance services for diverse clients across public, private, and non-profit sectors.

With more than 15 years of involvement in Audit and Risk Committees for local Councils, including Stonnington, Yarra, and Baw Baw, David has demonstrated leadership as Chair and expertise in risk management and governance. He currently serves as Chairman of Saferoads Holdings Ltd, an ASX-listed company, further showcasing his strategic oversight capabilities. As a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Financial Services Institute of Australia, David remains committed to professional excellence and governance best practices.

Ms Katie Baldwin – Independent Member

Appointed as an independent member in July 2023.

Katie has over 15 years of internal and external audit experience, specialising in governance and risk mitigation, particularly related to safety and brand protection. She is currently the Head of Internal Audit at CSIRO, where she leads strategic and operational audits, evaluates the control environment, and reports to the CSIRO Board Audit and Risk Committee. Previously, Katie served as an Independent Member of the Monash City Council Audit & Risk Committee for six years.

Before joining CSIRO, Katie worked at Woolworths, assessing risk management strategies and internal controls, and at the Walt Disney Company in Los Angeles, where she led the Internal Audit function for the global Parks and Resorts Business Unit. She began her career at Ernst & Young, specializing in external audit and consulting for hotels and wineries. Katie holds a Bachelor of Business double degree in Accounting and Catering & Hotel Management and is a Chartered Accountant. She is also an active volunteer for children's diabetes camps.

Ms Fiona McAlister – Councillor Representative

View profile here

Ryrie Ward Councillor

Mr Jim Child – Councillor Representative and Mayor

View profile here

O'Shannassy Ward Councillor