Sustainable Environment Advisory Committee


The Sustainable Environment Advisory Committee (SEAC) is made up community representatives, Councillors, Yarra Ranges Council staff and agency representatives from Parks Victoria, Melbourne Water and the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP).

Community volunteer representatives hold their position for a fixed term of three years and are selected based on demonstrated interest, skills, qualifications or experience in environmental management, sustainability and/or related fields.

The committee provides Yarra Ranges Council with informed and constructive advice, input and support to help guide the Council on environmental sustainability issues and initiatives relevant to the management and stewardship of the natural environment within the municipality.

The Sustainable Environment Advisory Committee replaces the Yarra Ranges Environmental Advisory Committee (YREAC) which conducted its final meeting in November 2021.

Examples of topics covered by SEAC include:

  • Liveable Climate Plan
  • Tree Strategy
  • Warburton Mountain Bike Destination
  • Integrated Transport Strategy
  • Regional Forest Reform Project
  • Great Forest National Park
  • Biodiversity Asset Strategy

Committee Community Members

  • Graeme George
  • Jeff Barlow
  • Lauren Dwyer
  • Melanie Birtchnel
  • Ron Sawyer
  • Laurence Gaffney
  • Clinton Muller
  • Peter Martin
  • Jonathan Gay
  • Bec Brannigan
  • Lucy Southwell-Hambly
  • Lucy Gilchrist
  • Darren Wandin

For more information on the Committee you can read the current Terms of Reference(PDF, 140KB). Minutes from each meeting can be found below as they become available.