Eastern Region Group of Councils

The Eastern Region Group of Councils (ERG) is a regional body representing the six local government authorities in eastern metropolitan Melbourne – Knox, Manningham, Maroondah, Monash, Whitehorse and Yarra Ranges.

The ERG works collaboratively on significant issues of common importance and priority through advocacy, integrated planning, shared services and joint procurement to benefit communities of the eastern region.

The group’s vision for the region focuses on four strategic pillars:

  • Our communities – improved health, wellbeing and social connectedness
  • Our environment – sustainable living and access to nature
  • Our economy – a connected, competitive, diverse and prosperous region
  • Our infrastructure and buildings – to promote social cohesion, health and equality of opportunity.

Federal election 2022

The ERG is advocating for a range of capital works and projects to support our communities, grow our economy, and sustain our built and natural environment.

There is a need across Melbourne’s east, as a long-established region, to update and improve facilities to support contemporary needs, address service gaps and build the regional economy.

To learn more about the federal government projects that the ERG is advocating for, visit their website or read about their Priorities for Federal Government action(PDF, 3MB).