Fire danger ratings

Fire Danger Rating System

The Australian Fire Danger Rating System (AFDRS) is the same in every state and territory. 

Fire Danger Ratings provide information so people in affected areas can take action to protect themselves and others. The higher the fire danger, the more dangerous the conditions and the greater the impact will be if a fire starts.

The four Fire Danger Ratings levels are:

  • Moderate
  • High
  • Extreme
  • Catastrophic

When no Fire Danger Rating is issued the arrow will point to a white ‘no rating’ level.

Daily fire danger ratings can be found on the CFA website. 

Rating levels.png 

How can I find out if there are any fires nearby?

Preparing for high fire risks

It's important to be prepared for fire season. You can be prepared by:

You may also want to be prepared for: