Vantage Point

Evening on the Mount, Kalorama

In accordance with the recent announcement from Acting Premier James Merlino and in the interest of public safety, this exhibition will be closed until Thu 3 Jun.

“Life is like a landscape. You live in the midst of it but can describe it only from the vantage point of distance.” – Charles Lindbergh

From Mt. Dandenong to Mt. Donna Buang, suburban Lilydale to the picturesque villages of the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley, the Yarra Ranges has long been recognised for its natural beauty, majestic rainforests, and undulating open plains. It’s a region boasting epic views and stunning lookouts at every turn.

Vantage Point showcases historic photographs from the Museum’s collection that reveal vistas, panoramas, and scenic landscapes from across the region. Many of the scenes are strikingly familiar to those we can see today but they are evidence of the vast change our region has experienced over the years.

Many of the collection’s photographs are personal observations captured by residents or tourists as they experience the vast outdoors, especially when travelling to new and interesting places. In some instances, they are from souvenir booklets or postcards such as The Rose Series produced by Victorian photographer George Rose between 1913 and 1967.

Step back in time as you wander through the exhibition, catching a glimpse into the past. 

When

  • Thursday, 08 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 09 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 10 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 11 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 15 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 16 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 17 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 18 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 22 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 23 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 24 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 25 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 29 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 30 April 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 01 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 02 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 06 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 07 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 08 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 09 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 13 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 14 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 15 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 16 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 20 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 21 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 22 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 23 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 27 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 28 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 29 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 30 May 2021 | 12:00 PM - 04:00 PM

Location

Yarra Ranges Regional Museum, 35-37 Castella St, Lilydale 3140  View Map

Google Map
Tagged as: