07 Mountain Grey Gum Damp Forest - Central Highlands (EVC 29)


Community structure 

Open forest with an upper storey dominated by a mixture of eucalypts up to 40m high, usually including Eucalyptus cypellocarpa (Mountain Grey Gum) and E. obliqua (Messmate). Other eucalypts that may occur include E. radiata (Narrow-leaf Peppermint), E. dives (Broad-leaf Peppermint), E. baxteri (Brown Stringbark) and E. sieberi (Silvertop Ash). The middle storey contains a dense shrub layer to 3m high of broad-leaved species typical of wet forest mixed with species from dry forests. The ground layer includes climbers, bracken, herbs and grasses as well as a variety of moisture-dependent ferns including occasional tree ferns. 

This community suffers from fires and weed invasion. 


Scattered but widespread from the northwest boundary of the Shire, looping to the east of Healesville and following the Yarra River and its major tributaries towards the east and south of the Shire. It is frequently abutting Mountain Ash Wet Forest on protected slopes at lower altitudes, and on exposed slopes and ridges up to 800m, on a range of fertile soils. 

Typical suburbs/areas occurring in this EVC are:  

Mt. Slide to Toolangi, Chum Creek, Fernshaw, Mt Toole-be-wong, Millgrove; Warburton south to Three Bridges; Big Pats Creek;  east along the Yarra River and Armstrong Creek; following McMahons Creek; isolated patches within the Upper Yarra Catchment. 

Plant listings