03 Narrow-leaf Peppermint Montane damp Forest (EVC 38)


Community Structure 

Open forest, dominated by tall eucalypt upper storey to 30m high, principally Eucalyptus radiata (Narrow-leaf Peppermint) often with E. cypellocarpa (Mountain Grey Gum). There is a middle storey shrub layer up to 7m high, sometimes including tree ferns. The lower storey is composed of a variety of tussock grasses, wire grass, herbs and ferns. 


Limited occurrence within the Shire of Yarra Ranges at medium to higher altitudes, usually above 800m, on ridges and exposed slopes. It occurs in the northern section of the Upper Yarra Catchment area along the Marysville-Woods Point Road and in the central section of the catchment north of the Yarra River.  It is more common outside the Shire. 

Typical suburbs/areas occurring in this EVC are:  

Between Mt. Morgan, to the right of the Cumberland Junction, and Shaw 

Plant lists