untitled (seven monuments)

untitled (seven monuments)

Title: untitled (seven monuments)
Artists: Aunty Joy Murphy Wandin (Wurundjeri), Jonathan Jones (Wiradjuri/Kamilaroi) and Tom Nicholson (Celtic-Australian)
Year: 2019
Location: Healesville and surrounds
Coordinates: See map


untitled (seven monuments) is a public art project that marks the historical boundary of Coranderrk Aboriginal Station, one of Australia’s most significant sites.


untitled (seven monuments) was inspired by the rich cultural history of the Coranderrk Aboriginal Station.

Established by Wurundjeri and other displaced Aboriginal people in 1863, Coranderrk quickly became both a thriving economic community and a powerful base for Aboriginal self-organisation and political advocacy. However, the community was constantly pitted against the forces of colonisation and other settler-imposed systems, and by 1924 only a handful of determined Elders remained on a much reduced parcel of land.

Today Coranderrk continues to be an important living place for Wurundjeri people, and for the wider Aboriginal community.


untitled (seven monuments) includes seven sites that together mark the boundaries of Coranderrk in 1866, when it was at its largest, comprising 4,850 acres.

Each marker comprises an upturned flagpole and brick footing, with a plaque on each face, surrounded by Coranderrk (Christmas bush).

untitled (seven monuments) invites the public to move between these markers to learn about Coranderrk’s extraordinary history and traverse Wurundjeri country.


Several sites are located within what is known today as Healesville. Others are outside the town.

If travelling by car, you can visit three sites within an hour: for example, sites 2, 4 and 5, or sites 1, 3 and 5. In two hours you can visit sites 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5. Over a day you can visit six of the sites (not all seven sites are publicly accessible).

Find the seven markers at www.untitledsevenmonuments.com.au

Commission details

TarraWarra Museum of Art commissioned untitled (seven monuments) as part of the exhibition Future Memorials, 2013–14, curated by Victoria Lynn. The public art project came to life in 2019 with the support of Yarra Ranges Council, the artwork’s current custodian.


The artists would like to thank the following for their generosity, work and skill towards the realisation of this artwork: TarraWarra Museum of Art, in particular Eva Besen AO and Marc Besen AC, Victoria Lynn and Anthony Fitzpatrick; Kevin Mason; Genevieve O’Callaghan; Ziga Testen; Allan Wandin, Brooke Wandin, Jacqui Wandin, Dave Wandin and Tony D’Abbs; Mick Woiwod; Yarra Ranges Council; Brett Cowan, Managing Director, Southern Rainforest; Patricia Wadsworth from PLAQUES.COM.AU; and all the residents and landowners in Healesville and Badger Creek who supported this project.