Be heard next February: Streeton Ward by-election

Published on 30 November 2021

Cyclists travelling through Olinda Main Street

The Yarra Ranges Shire Council, Streeton Ward by-election will be held next February.

The Victorian Electoral Commission is preparing to deliver a by-election for Streeton Ward, which will be conducted entirely by post – a safe and completely secret method of voting.

Electoral Commissioner Warwick Gately AM has issued a call to residents and ratepayers to be ready to vote.

‘Make sure you’re enrolled by the close of roll, which is 4pm on Friday 10 December. As this is a postal election, it’s important to check both your postal and residential addresses are correct, so you receive your ballot pack,’ Mr Gately said.

‘Council makes important decisions about your community facilities, services and local business community, so it’s important to have your say by voting in this by-election,’ Mr Gately added.

Voting is compulsory for voters on the State roll at 4 pm on Friday 10 December 2021.

For State-enrolled voters, you can enrol, or update your enrolment, online at or by calling the Victorian Electoral Commission on 1300 805 478. You can register for VoterAlert at the same time, a free SMS and email election reminder service. 

If you’re not an Australian citizen but pay rates to council, own property in Streeton Ward but do not live in the area, or are a director or company secretary of a corporation that pays rates to council and have no other voting entitlements for this council, you can apply to become a council-enrolled voter. To find out more and to apply, contact council on 1300 368 333 by 4pm on Friday 10 December.

The Victorian Electoral Commission conducts elections for all Victorian councils. For more information, visit

Yarra Ranges Shire Council election timeline

Friday 10 December: Roll closes at 4 pm

Thursday 13 January: Candidate nominations open

Tuesday 18 January: Candidate nominations close at 12 noon

Tuesday 1 to Thursday 3 February: Mail-out of ballot packs

Friday 18 February: Voting closes at 6 pm

Friday 25 February: Postal vote receipt period closes at 12 noon

Monday 28 February: Latest date all results will be declared.

Tagged as: