Skip to main content

Election information

Council elections are held every four years.  The next election will be in 2020. 

Yarra Ranges Council's last general election was held in October 2016.

The successful candidates were:

Billanook Ward – Tim Heenan
Chandler Ward – Tony Stevenson
Chirnside Ward – Richard Higgins
Lyster Ward – Mike Clarke
Melba Ward – Terry Avery
O’Shannassy Ward – Jim Child
Ryrie Ward – Fiona McAllister
Streeton Ward – Noel Cliff
Walling Ward – Len Cox

Further details of the results are available on the VEC website.

What if I didn’t vote in the 2016 elections?

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is responsible for all aspects of the Yarra Ranges Council elections. This includes sending ballot packs to all enrolled voters and managing the infringements process for anyone who failed to vote.

In early 2017 the VEC will send an “apparent failure to vote” notice to everyone who was enrolled to vote but failed to do so, asking for an explanation about why they did not vote. The only exception will be if you were aged 70 years or over on election day (22 October 2016).

Further information about the infringements process is available on the VEC website or by calling the VEC on 1300 551 575.

Election Period Policy

The Council adopted its Election Period Policy (PDF, 142KB) on 22 March 2016. This provides information and guidance to employees, councillors and candidates to ensure that: 

  • the Council operates in a responsible and transparent way during the election period.
  • an election is conducted in an environment that is open and fair to all candidates.

Previous election results

View the election results on the VEC website.

Election campaign donations

Summary of election campaign donations for candidates




Subscribe to Page Updates

Fields marked as required must be completed